Analyzing and Fixing Azure Web Sites with the SCM Virtual Directory

There’s so many things you do every day as part of operating and maintaining your Azure web sites.  They’re a common target for developers because you get 10 free sites with your Azure subscription, and if you know what you’re doing you can spin that up into even more applications by using custom virtual directories as I’ve previously explained here:  https://samlman.wordpress.com/2015/02/28/developing-and-deploying-multiple-sharepoint-2013-apps-to-a-single-azure-web-site/.  That example is specific to using them for SharePoint Apps, but you can follow the same process to use them for standard web apps as well.

Typically, you go through your publishing and management process using two out of the box tools – Visual Studio and the Azure browser management pages.  What happens though when you need to go beyond the simple deploy and configure features of these tools?  Yes, there are third-party tools out there than can help with these scenarios, but many folks don’t realize that there’s also a LOT that you can do with something that ships out of the box in Azure, which is the Kudo Services, or as I’ve called it above, the SCM virtual directory.

The SCM virtual directory is present in every Azure web site.  To access it, you merely insert “scm” between your web name and the host name.  For example, if you have an Azure web site at “contoso.azurewebsites.net”, then you would navigate to “contoso.scm.azurewebsites.net”.  Once you authenticate and get in, you’ll arrive at the home page for what they call the Kudu Services.  In this post I really just wanted to give you an overview of some of the features of the Kudu Services and how to find them, which I kind of just did.  :-)  At the end though I’ll include a link to more comprehensive documentation for Kudu.

Going back to my example, I found out about all of the tools and analysis available with the Kudu Services a few months ago when I was trying to publish an update to an Azure web site.  Try as I might, the deployment kept failing because it said a file in the deployment was being used by another process on the server.  Now of course, I don’t own the “server” in this case, because it’s an Azure server running the IIS service.  So that’s how I started down this path of “how am I gonna fix that” in Azure.  SCM came to the rescue.

To begin with, here’s a screenshot of the Kudu home page:

Kudu1

As you can see right off the bat, you get some basic information about the server and version on the home page.  The power of these features come as you explore some of the other menu options available.  When you hop over to the Environment link, you get a list of the System Info, App Settings, Connection Strings, Environment variables, PATH info, HTTP headers, and the ever popular Server variables.  As a long time ASP.NET developer I will happily admit that there have been many times when I’ve done a silly little enumeration of all of the Server variables when trying to debug some issue.  Now you can find them all ready to go for you, as shown in this screenshot:

Kudu2

Now back to that pesky “file in use” problem I was describing above.  After trying every imaginable hack I could think of back then, I eventually used the “Debug console” in the Kudu Services.   These guys really did a nice job on this and offer both a Command prompt shell as well as a PowerShell prompt.  In my case, I popped open the Command prompt and quickly solved my issue.  Here’s an example:

Kudu3

One of the things that’s cool about this as well is that as I motored around the directory structure with my old school DOS skills, i.e. “cd wwwroot”, the graphical display of the directory structure was kept in sync above the command prompt.  This really worked out magnificently, I had no idea how else I was going to get that issue fixed.

Beyond the tools I’ve shown already, there are several additional tools you will find, oddly enough, under the Tools menu.  Want to get the IIS logs?  No problem, grab the Diagnostic Dump.  You can also get a log stream, a dashboard of web jobs, a set of web hooks, the deployment script for your web site, and open a Support case.

Finally, you can also add Site Extensions to your web site.  There are actually a BUNCH of them that you can choose from.  Here’s the gallery from the Site Extensions menu:

Kudu4

Of course, there’s many more than fit on this single screen shot.  All of the additional functionality and the ease with which you can access it is pretty cool though.  Here’s an example of the Azure Websites Event Viewer.  You can launch it from the Installed items in your gallery and it pops open right in the browser:

Kudu5

So that’s a quick overview of the tools.  I used them some time ago and then when I needed them a couple of months ago I couldn’t remember the virtual directory name.  I Bing’d my brains out unsuccessfully trying to find it, until it hit me when I looked at one of my site deployment scripts – they go to the SCM vdir as well.  Since I had such a hard time finding it I thought I would capture it here and hopefully your favorite search engine will find enough of keywords in this post to help you track it down when you need it.

Finally, for a full set of details around what’s in the Kudu Services, check out their GitHub wiki page at https://github.com/projectkudu/kudu/wiki.

Leave a Reply

